Seth Caskey talks Acting, Social Media, and Zipper Malfunctions

2 04 2009

A few days ago I had the pleasure to quiz my online pal Seth Caskey who’s an actor in LA.

As usual the format was 8 questions designed to tax the mind to the point of breaking while revealing as much of the inner workings of the subjects mind as possible.

Let’s see how Seth got on:

Q1: So what is an average day like in the Seth Caskey Universe?

No two days are alike, and that’s what I love about it. I’m somewhat of a workaholic, so I spend some time everyday working my craft. I love meeting and connecting with interesting people, online and off. I currently work a part-time “survival” job (that’s actor-speak for a non-acting job). I take my dog out for a hike around Runyan Canyon every morning, spend some time with my wife, drink at least six cups of coffee and am currently training for my next marathon. That’s about as typical as it gets.

Q2: Do you have any upcoming projects you can tell us about?

I am currently shooting a web series called End Result with the extremely talented writing/directing team of Heath Vinyard and James Calahan. We are almost halfway through the first season with plans to have it ready to come out later this year.

Q3: Was acting always your number one choice of career?

Have I always wanted to be an actor? Yes. Was it always my number one choice of career? No. My wife and I got married straight out of college, and I felt a sense obligation to have a more predictable 9-5 job. I worked for a number of years in the communications field and eventually as a freelance graphic designer – all while pursuing acting part-time. It wasn’t until a few months before my 30th birthday that I stopped running from the one thing that makes me the happiest and approached my wife with the idea of moving to Los Angeles. That was a little more than two years ago, and it’s been the best journey ever.

Q4: If you could act in any tevision series (past or present) which would it be, and why?

Alias. The show redefined television. It introduced a kind of storytelling that wasn’t around in 2001. It was a relationship drama and action-adventure ride all at the same time. It introduced the concept of mythology and elements of science fiction that were completely accessible to the average viewer and totally grounded in the believability of its characters. The caliber of the cast was outstanding, and I believe it opened the door for many of today’s most successful shows. (and it’s JJ Abrams – come on)

Q5: What’s the funniest acting experience you have had during your career?

There have been quite a few, but one one that stands out was being onstage in my first musical, dancing my heart out with my zipper down. I thought the audience was laughing at my outstanding comedic performance. Nope, just the zipper.

Q6: If you were stuck on a desert island and you could bring 2 worldly items/people/things, what would they be?

John Locke and MacGyver.

Q7: You’ve got a very strong online presence with Twitter, Facebook, your personal site, and your blog. Do you think presence in social media is a must for professionals in the world of today?

Without a doubt. As a professional actor I am an entrepreneur and CEO of my own company. It’s impossible for a business to survive in today’s market without a strong web presence. I have been online since the late 90’s, but it has only been within the past few months that I’ve become strategic about social media specifically. Social media is about relationships. And success in any business comes from building strong relationships with your customers (fans), vendors (producers, writers, directors) and colleagues.

Taking a clue from some other actors who are doing this successfully like Brea Grant (@breagrant), Greg Grunberg (@greggrunberg) and Michael Urie (@michaelurie) and with the help some social media experts Laura Roeder (@lkr) and Patrick Redknap (@PatrickRedknap), I’m discovering ways to do this more effectively.

Q8: If you could be an animal for a day. What would it be and why?

HA! Great question. I would have to say my dog Schmiegel (@thedailyschmoo). I would give anything to know what he’s thinking as hs looks at me in certain moments, and what is it about eating someone else’s poop that is so damn appealing.

You can check out more of Seth and his projects at the following locations online:

Seth’s Official Site: http://www.sethcaskey.com

Seth’s Twitter: http://twitter.com/sethcaskey

Seth’s Blog: http://realityofdoing.wordpress.com

I also strongly recommend that you check out the web series End Result.

I just watched the first part and enjoyed it thoroughly….. beware though! Seth is dishing out some torture on one of the bad guys!

Actions

Information

One response

11 04 2009
Guest Posting as a Super Objective « The Reality of Doing Blog

[…] about the entertainment industry. He asked if I would consider doing an interview for his blog Celebrity Scraps. We did a Q&A over email and then each of us promoted it via Twitter. Huge […]

Leave a Reply

